Staff profile – Jim Trambley

Title: Helpdesk Associate / Store Manager

Years at UNK: 2

Family:

Spouse – Olimpia Dos Santos Leite-Trambly; Son Tiago Michael Leite Trambly – Age Two Today – 1-14-16

Hobbies/Interests:  Learning, I take classes all the time, Constructing and dismantling things (houses, electronics, computers, appliances and other) I like to know how things work.

Areas of ITS responsibility:

I approve all technology purchases under $5,000 for the university. I help with product ordering and purchasing for the university. I am responsible for printer support for our department. I am in charge of the UNK iPad program. I assist with fixing problems with student computers and equipment.  I assist people who call in on the phones. I am responsible for student labs for building the images as well as their functionality in our department. I fix broken iPads for the iPad program. I also assist with other areas as needed.

Tell us about the journey that led you to IT i.e. past school and jobs.

I have a degree in Telecommunications Management (Computer networking) and Industrial distribution. I have minors in Marketing management, Industrial safety, and have taken classes in almost every department. Just prior to coming to UNK I worked in the Buckle corporate office where I worked in the Helpdesk there for almost 2 years. I worked there and our responsibility was almost everything in the store from phones, lights, theft sensors, to router and network troubleshooting. Prior to that I worked at a company which sold computers, where I was responsible for most basic troubleshooting on computers.

If you could abolish one piece of modern technology, what would it be and why?

I do not want to demolish any technology specifically, but have thrown a computer out a 2nd floor window once. I think it actually worked better after doing this than when it was not scared of me.

Do you prefer Windows or Mac?  Why?

Windows, better compatibility with other systems, and I have started on windows. I know it a lot better. I like Mac for their stability, but they also are also very expensive for the hardware that you get.

Do you prefer white, dark or milk chocolate? White, even though it is not really chocolate.

Do you have any hobbies? Not really, just a lot of random things.

What was your favorite TV show growing up? Cartoons, and still today. They are not depressing, rather light hearted and have a moral usually. Not really a specific show.

What is your favorite thing to do on the weekends? Sleep, but that does not really happen too often.

What was (or is) your favorite video game? Overall Halo, but lately I have been playing Destiny mostly.

What is one professional or personal skill you wish you had that you don’t? I wish I was better at programming. I took some classes a long time ago but have basically forgot them all.

What do you like on your pizza? Favorite pizza is Chicken Bacon Ranch pizzas. Best place in town is Fanatics.